Christmas Traditions

Hey! It’s me, Abi. I can’t wait for Christmas, it seems like this year has just flown by. Christmas is my favorite holiday because I get to spend time with my family and friends, but lets be honest everyone loves Christmas because they get presents from their parents and Santa. I also get a break from school. During this break I visit my grandparents, aunt’s, uncles, and my annoying cousins. It’s not that I hate my cousins, they just talk to much. The worst of them all is Justin, he is  magician is training. The only magic trick that he is good at is the one where he magically make’s  your afternoon disappear.  Even though my family gets on my nerve’s I still love them because they are always there for me when I need them the most.

My family has several Christmas traditions. Every year we attend First church of Christ. This is an important tradition of my family because Christmas celebrates Jesus birthday. We also spend time driving around Kentucky to look at Christmas lights. When you see all the lights it makes everything seem magical. Sometimes my brother and I even get to bring a friend along for the spectacular show of lights. The most important tradition of all is spending quality time with my family. We usually have a sit down dinner and eat lots of delicious food. Sometimes these traditions change in order to fit our schedules. This year my family and I will be spending our Christmas in Florida. Even though we will be in Florida, we still managed to bring every one together and be one big happy family.

I honestly can’t talk about Christmas without talking about the reason for the season. Christmas is a celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ. My family attends the Christmas musical awaited as well as old Kentucky Christmas. These events explain the coming of Christ.  To celebrate the birth of Christ we display a nativity set. A nativity set displays the 3 kings, the shepherd, the angel, Mary, Joseph, and baby Jesus. We also attend a candle lighting serves at my grandparents church. At the candle lighting serves we praise god by singing songs. After the serves we gather together and pray for the new year ahead of us. Presents may give you happiness for a small amount of time but your family and  friends are what bring you true happiness that will last for ever.

 

   Jenner's Christmas tree byronv2 via Compfight

Old Kentucky Christmas

Awaited

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *